Remote digital nomad visa introduced for foreign nationals – Immigration

Croatia: Remote digital nomad visa is introduced for foreign nationals

To print this article, simply register or connect to

Key points

  • Croatian government launched new digital work visa for nomads
  • Applications are currently being accepted
  • Foreign nationals can use the visa to stay in Croatia for one year
  • The visa does not require sponsorship from a local business
  • Applicants must provide proof of health insurance and a police certificate
  • The visa is designed to boost the local economy and attract long-term visitors to Croatia


The Croatian government has launched a new digital nomad visa that allows foreign nationals to stay in Croatia for up to one year. Applications are currently being accepted.

What are the changes?

Foreign nationals may now be eligible for a temporary residence permit to visit Croatia. They are not required to obtain sponsorship from a local business, which is otherwise a requirement for all other Croatian work permits.

What do employers and applicants need to know?

Foreign remote workers are subject to the same requirements as for other temporary resident permit applications. They must present a police certificate, proof of health insurance and other documents upon request.

Look ahead

The Croatian government has launched the new digital nomad visa in response to unprecedented workplace flexibility resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, and as a way to boost the country’s economy and attract long-term visitors.

Originally posted by Envoy, January 2021

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide on the subject. Specialist advice should be sought on your particular situation.

POPULAR ARTICLES ON: Immigration from Croatia

The 4 biggest mistakes

Internal law

Most construction and energy companies are doing what could cause them to lose their EU migrant workforce this summer and how to fix it in 3 easy steps.

The Schengen zone: everything you need to know

Envoy Global, Inc.

The Schengen area, also known as the “Schengen area”, includes 26 countries across Europe. Schengen countries have a reciprocal arrangement for travel and free movement, function as a unified jurisdiction for the purposes of international travel, and share a common visa policy.

New amendments to the Cyprus residency program

Michael Kyprianou Lawyers and Legal Advisors

Cyprus has always been considered an ideal destination for the permanent residence of non-EU nationals. The Cypriot government, in an attempt to attract more foreign investment to the island …

About Andrew Miller

Check Also

The junta propaganda debacle in Dili

Particularly disturbing in the context of a press conference, he attacked Myanmar’s news sector wholesale, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.