Do you need a visa to travel to Norway?


Like most countries in the Schengen area, it’s easy to get to Norway if you’re from an EU or EEA country. If you live elsewhere, your dream trip to the land of Fjords, Vikings and the Northern Lights might take a little more preparation and require a tourist visa.

Here is our guide to tourist visa requirements for Norway, including information on Schengen visas, their cost, and how to do it.

Understanding the Schengen area

Although Norway is not a member of the EU, it is a member of the EEA and is one of the 26 countries that form the Schengen area. When you obtain a visa for one of the countries in the Schengen zone, your visa is also valid for travel to one of the other Schengen countries. This is why you will often hear the term “Schengen visa”.

The countries of the Schengen area are:
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain , Sweden, Switzerland.

You will need to go through passport control when entering and leaving the Schengen area. You usually do not need to show your passport when crossing the border between Schengen countries.

Visa-free travel

EU / EEA citizens

If you are a citizen or recognized resident of an EU or EEA country (and Switzerland), you do not need a tourist visa to travel to Norway and you can stay there for up to three months. . There is no minimum waiting time before you can return, but you must have proof that you have left the country. You will need a valid travel document to visit, such as a European Union ID card or passport.

Citizens of other countries

Norway also has agreements with several countries outside the EU / EEA, allowing their citizens to travel to Norway visa-free. These countries include the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, and Japan.

Even if you do not need a visa to travel to Norway, there are some visiting conditions that you should be aware of. These include in particular:

  • you can stay in any of the Schengen area countries (including Norway) for a combined total of 90 days in any 180-day period
  • your passport must be valid for at least three months after leaving Norway
  • you must have the means to return to your country of residence
  • you shouldn’t be intending to work
  • you must have at least NOK 500 (around US $ 58) for each day of stay in Norway.

Get more travel inspiration, tips and exclusive offers straight to your inbox with our weekly newsletter.

Visitors take in the view from a mountain top near the village of Leon, Norway © Marco Bottigelli / Getty Images

Travelers requiring a visa

If you want to travel to Norway as a tourist and you are not on the visa free countries list, you will need to apply for a visitor visa. Citizens of countries like China, India and South Africa need a visa to visit Norway.

The following general guidelines apply to most countries. Check your country’s specific requirements, including current visa fees, at

Apply for a visa

To apply for a visitor visa, you will normally need to register your application online and then visit a Norwegian embassy, ​​consulate or visa application center in person with all the required documents.

A visitor visa is valid for travel throughout the Schengen area – including Norway – for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. You must submit your visa application at least four weeks in advance, but you can apply up to six months before your trip.

If you are traveling to several Schengen countries on the same trip, you must apply for a visa for your main destination. This is normally the country in which you stay the longest or the one where you will arrive.

When applying, you will need to indicate the number of entries you need on your visa. This is especially important if you are going on a trip to multiple countries that involves traveling outside the Schengen area (eg UK or Russia) and then coming back.

At the time of writing, the standard fee for a visitor visa is € 80 (approximately USD 93) per adult.

Extension of your visa

Schengen visas (and therefore visas for Norway) cannot be extended. Once you have reached 90 days, you must leave the Schengen area or apply for a residence permit.

If you have left the Schengen area and wish to return but have used up the number of entries on your original visa, you will need to apply for a new Schengen visa.

Working holiday visa in Norway

Norway does not have a specific working holiday visa program, but seasonal workers in certain industries, for example in agriculture, can obtain special permits.

That said, Visit Norway encourages travel to the country for “work”. This means you could work as a digital nomad, doing your usual work away from the fjords or deep in the Arctic Circle. Be sure to check the requirements of your own visa before traveling for this purpose.

Traveling to Svalbard

Although Svalbard is a Norwegian territory, it has different travel rules than the rest of the country. In particular, Svalbard is not in the Schengen area, but you will have to cross the area to reach it. If you are planning to visit Svalbard, make sure you have enough entries on your visa to cover your visit. For more information, visit


About Andrew Miller

Check Also

Digital Nomad Visas Offering Jobs Across Borders

Digital nomad visas make it possible to reside abroad and work for employers around the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.